External Advisory Board

A distinguished group of nationally recognized information-related experts from business and education compose the dean's External Advisory Board. The board meets each spring in Ann Arbor and each fall via teleconference to offer counsel about matters related to a wide range of topics, including research initiatives and curriculum development.

Rhea Ballard-Thrower is the Executive Director for the Howard University Library System, which includes Founders Library, the Undergraduate Library and Moorland Spingarn Archives. (Term ends 2021).

Jason Blessing serves as chief executive officer of Model N and previously was CEO of Plex Systems and a member of the company’s Board of Directors. Previously Blessing, a U-M alumnus, held a variety of executive positions at PeopleSoft, Oracle and Price Waterhouse during his 20-year career in enterprise software. (Term ends 2021). 

Francis X. Blouin was director of the Bentley Historical Library at the University of Michigan from 1981 to 2013. He currently continues his work as Professor of History and Professor in the School of Information. (Term ends 2020). 

John Seely Brown is a visiting scholar at the University of Southern California and the independent co-chairman for the Deloitte Center for Edge Innovation. His research interests include the impact of globalization on business, the management of radical innovation, digital culture, ubiquitous computing, and organizational and individual learning. (Indefinite term).

John J Cameron is the Managing Partner of Brigante, Cameron, Watters & Strong, LLP in Torrance, California, a firm recognized by Accounting Today as a “Best Place to Work” in 2014. (Term ends 2020). 

 Yvonne J. Chandler is an Associate Professor in the Department of Information Sciences (DIS) in the College of Information at the University of North Texas. Her research areas include legal information services, Internet resources and services, and education for library and information services. (Term ends 2021)

Irene Cheung is Vice President, BMSC Consulting - Global Marketing, Marriott International. She was previously a Director at PricewaterhouseCoopers, where she collaborates with clients to solve challenges in their front-office functions and to build a better customer experience. (Term ends 2019). 

David Choi is Lead User Experience Researcher at Nextdoor. He has been a User Experience Researcher at Facebook, where he led research efforts on Messenger. (Term ends 2021).



Roger Ehrenberg is the founder and Managing Partner of IA Ventures. He currently sits on the boards of DataSift, Metamarkets, PlaceIQ, Sight Machine, Simple, The Trade Desk, and Twice, and is a board observer of MemSQL and SavingStar. (Term ends 2019). 

John Evans is the chairman and CEO of Evans Telecommunications Company. He is an internationally recognized expert in the telecommunications industry and a leader in technological innovation. (Indefinite term). 

Nancy Gwinn is the Director of the Smithsonian Libraries. She is a recognized leader in international librarianship, the preservation of library collections, the application of library technologies and building collaborations and partnerships. (Term ends 2020).


Kenneth Jones is an executive with experience in engineering, operational and profit-and-loss management. He is a past Vice President of Northrup Grumman Corporation, and was Division General Manager of Westinghouse Electric Corporation. He holds an MS in nuclear engineering from Carnegie-Mellon University. (Term ends 2020). 

Kelvin Lam is an Executive Director of J.P. Morgan, where he focuses on trading residential mortgage whole loans. In this role, he evaluates and prices assets for acquisition, warehouse financing, and investment banking advisory.  (Term ends 2020).

Gleniece Robinson has spent her professional life, primarily, at the Dallas and Fort Worth Public Libraries. She has devoted her time to her local community through the Rotary Club of Fort Worth, Read Fort Worth, Union Gospel Mission, Tarrant County Food Bank and the Tarrant County Black Historical and Genealogical Association (TCHBGS). Term ends 2021). 

Paul E. Viera is the founder and Chief Executive Officer of EARNEST Partners, a global investment firm responsible for overseeing over $20 billion for municipalities, states, corporations, endowments, and universities. (Term ends 2021). 

Jamie Voris is the chief technology officer at Walt Disney Studios, where he oversees the development and implementation of technology strategies and innovations to support Disney’s film, music and theatrical operations. (Term ends 2020). 


Dr. Jun Zhang is the Chief Solution Architect and Senior Tech. Ladder Fellow at Pitney Bowes, one of America's largest providers of global e-commerce solutions. (Term ends 2020).