Michael D. Cohen Outstanding Service Award

The Michael D. Cohen Outstanding Service Award recognizes one UMSI faculty member each year. Faculty are honored for their commitment to excellence in serving the UMSI community.  In May 2012, this special award was re-named after Professor Michael Cohen, who retired at the end of the 2011-2012 academic year. Dean Jeff MacKie-Mason called Cohen "a peerless role model of selfless service to the school’s mission."

Read more. 







2018 - Nicole Ellison, Karl E Weick Collegiate Professor of Information and Professor of Information







2018 - Tiffany Veinot, Associate Professor, School of Information and Associate Professor of Health Behavior and Health Education








 2017 - Karen Markey, Professor







 2016 - Eytan Adar, Associate Professor


2015 - Margaret Hedstrom, Robert M Warner Collegiate Professor of Information


 2014 - Stephanie Teasley, Research Professor


 2013 - Charles Friedman, Professor


2012 - Elizabeth Yakel, Professor


2011 - Paul Edwards, Professor, School of Information and Professor of History, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts


2010 - Michael Cohen, Professor Emeritus, School of Information and Gerald R Ford School of Public Policy


2009 - Paul Resnick, Michael D. Cohen Collegiate Professor of Information


2008 - Paul Conway, Associate Professor